Skip to content

rise, and consider shining

November 8, 2010

There’s getting out of bed, and then there’s waking up.  I tend to do them in that order, though I’m told that the reverse is a wiser course of action.  This weekend, the result was that I did a lot of waking up in places where it’s assumed you’re already conscious upon arrival.

Friday, I woke up over a weak chai latte on South Beverly Drive.  It’s an interesting exercise to spend the morning writing about Watts while you sit a few dozen yards from Rodeo.  In my haze, I ended up passively eavesdropping on a long procession of poor little rich girls, sipping Ice Blendeds in their Tory Burch flats.  All of them gabbing to each other about nothing in particular — which is confusing when you’re still sleep-fogged enough that you’re trying to remember how English works.  I was trying to pin down the particular element in their demeanor that makes them so distinctive, but in all the chatter, I just kept hearing that line from Gatsby: Her voice is full of money….the inexhaustible charm that rose and fell in it, the jingle of it.

Saturday, I woke up already in my sneakers, halfway up Runyon Canyon.  It’s not a bad place to come to.  If you go early enough, the whole LA basin will be a cup filled with fine white mist, sunrise pouring over the top in a riot of gold and violet, like the most elegant snow cone you’ve ever seen.

Later that day, I also woke up halfway through a football game at the Coliseum.  Tough place to fall asleep, but if you manage it, 68,000 people roaring at a referee is one hell of an alarm clock.

So this morning, I went rogue and actually woke up while in bed.  There’s a church right down my alley that plays veritable concertos from its belltower on Sunday mornings.  I laid there and listened for a while.  When sitting up felt like a possibility, I exerted myself so far as to plump my pillow against the wall and reach for Thackeray.  He and I spent a comfortable hour visiting with the residents of Vanity Fair — which actually, in many ways, bears an uncanny resemblance to South Beverly Drive on a bright fall day in 2010.

Tomorrow morning, it is entirely probable that I’ll wake up at my desk with my nose almost touching the surface of my coffee.  Monday, do your worst.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 5:44 pm

    What a beautiful way to put into words that feeling of “omg i am definitely not awake but i am not in bed anymore yikes”. 🙂

  2. December 6, 2010 7:22 am

    This is what happens when you Google for the source of “suburbs in search of a city” for a blog article. I woke up to a charming blog that it will be necessary to visit at a later date.

    • Kate permalink*
      December 8, 2010 8:00 pm

      Glad you stumbled in, Jamie!

Leave a Reply

