Skip to content

equinox

September 22, 2009
And just like that, it’s autumn.
Autumn in Pasadena, originally uploaded by larryvincent.

Not that you’d know it by the weather. Southern California does this to me, every single year. At the end of April, when I am feeling frolicsome and ready for swimsuits, the whole world looks like it’s been rolled up in grey flannel and the temperature doesn’t rise above 60 for weeks. And then, come September or October, when I am ready to wear a scarf and watch the garden fill up with rain, the sun goes supernova and it’s suddenly hot enough to fry eggs on every sidewalk. The photo above was really taken in January, which sounds about right.

Weather vagaries notwithstanding, we’re perched on the soft coppery edge of my very favorite season. There’s so much to do.  I’m cleaning the house one room at a time, sweeping out the leftover sand and taking down the blankets. I’m planning menus: roasted squash, cider, zucchini and pumpkin breads. Last night I moved all the summer fluff to the bottom of my bookshelf, getting ready to tackle some of the heavyweights I’ve been saving. And I’m doing some studying, some planning, thinking about next fall and the fall beyond that.  Just today, everything is in balance.  I feel like good things are in store.

Happy equinox.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 7:45 am

    “soft coppery edge” is such a beautiful way to lay words end to end.

    • Kate permalink*
      September 23, 2009 11:49 pm

      a writerly compliment coming from you is a real treat. glad you’re reading, MLS.

Leave a Reply

