Skip to content

delete the adjectives

August 26, 2009
tags:

I have been neglecting the blog shamefully this month, but I’m alive and I’ll be back soon with some real updates, promise.

In the meantime, I’m curled up in bed alternating between Mastering the Art of French Cooking (because yes, I am one of the lemmings who rushed out and bought it after seeing Julie & Julia) and To Kill a Mockingbird (which I haven’t read in years, but is just as absorbing as I remembered it).

Wisdom from Julia:  “If you can read, you can cook.”  I’m really good at reading.  I am hoping that sooner or later this will affect my culinary skills, which are so far limited to the production of toast and soft-boiled eggs.

Wisdom from Harper Lee:  “[Jem] went through a brief Egyptian Period that baffled me – he tried to walk flat a great deal, sticking one arm in front of him and one in back of him, putting one foot behind the other.  He declared Egyptians walked that way; I said if they did I didn’t see how they got anything done, but Jem said they accomplished more than the Americans ever did, they invented toilet paper and perpetual embalming, and asked where would we be today if they hadn’t?  Atticus told me to delete the adjectives and I’d have the facts.”

It occurred to me today, while wading through the new LA Times website (still clunky, but an improvement over the previous blue nightmare), that deleting the adjectives is a pretty solid method of improving accuracy for the news in general.  Don’t you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

